If you haven’t figured out by now, I am a nut for antique.  Not just “antiques”.  (My new favorite saying in my head is antique freak…sounds funny.)  History was my favorite subject in school.  I love sitting around listening to old stories of friends and family that can date back to waaay before I was born.  I love these stories and I also respect them.  I still believe in most of the old ways a child was raised, but that is a subject for a whole ‘nother time, place and blog.  I love gadgets that were made a hundred years ago, but are still useful today.   Good thing Mr. Kuz loves the same things.  For one, he never complains when I bring home some random antique.  Two, his favorite subject was also history and he can and does recite hundreds of random facts.  Three, he doesn’t mind looking at/trying to rebuild/even shopping/ for antiques.  His interest leans more towards farm machinery.

I wanted to pay respect to that history that made us.  Not just our short history, but all that can be found that led up to us. This is my picture project.

For the last 2 months, (mostly over Christmas because that when we got to see everybody)  I have been collecting family pictures of the parent, grandparents, great-grandparents…etc.  I want to make  sort of family tree out of them. 

Getting the pictures were easy.  I was surprised at both mine and Mr. Kuz’s family were so well-organized.  The photo albums came out, the pictures were already labeled.  After a quick trip to Wal-Mart, I had my own copies.  I did forget to label a few before I gave back the originals…oops. 

Getting pictures=Easy.  Organizing them…not so much.  There are multiple divorces, deaths and remarriage, and holes to fill.  For instance, on my mother’s side a couple of generations back, two brothers married two sisters…double cousins=Confusing as all hell!  Those would be my great-great grandparents.   On my dad’s side the father Herald married a Dorothy, their son Herald married a Dorothy!  Fun! 

But this is the type of thing I do love figuring out.  It won’t be long and one generation will not care about such things and the whole history might be lost forever.  Pictures have always held a fascination for me.  You should see our house; there are random black and white pictures everywhere.  I still have 10 photo albums and I do still fill them up.  I learned my lesson the hard way a few years ago when my computer crashed and I lost a lot of great photos.  Hard lesson to learn the hard way.   Lesson learned -back up your shit!

Now I just have a few more to collect and then I get the task of somehow arranging them on …something?  I have no idea.  Any ideas from the peanut gallery?

